Colonoscopy – the finale

Off to bed at 11pm after downing all the foul liquids. I was actually too scared to go to sleep in case I woke up in a puddle. By the morning I was so tired and ropable about the whole process that I swore I’d never had another colonoscopy if my life depended on it. It is so invasive, and makes you feel so helpless and have no control over what you’re doing. Once the process is started there is no going back. The deprivation of food, the headaches through lack of water (hard to believe when you drink so much liquid), the time it takes just waiting around. It is just something I would never want to go through again.

I nearly overslept this morning and missed my appointment. As it happened I got there on time but then waited an hour to be called. It is mass production colonoscopies and endoscopies. There were people coming and going the whole time.  You wait in the waiting room to be called. Then you are taken to another room to talk to the nurse and get changed into a gown. Then you wait again to talk to the doctor. And again you wait to go to go to theatre. The staff were lovely especially when the intravenous drip did not work, they fiddled with it, it really hurt and I started to cry. I was really at the end of my tether by then. The anaesthetist held my hands to comfort me and the IV in the other hand worked. I swear I had just closed my eyes and then I was wheeled into recovery. It was all over!

I got comfy in a big reclining armchair and had a couple of cups of tea and biscuits and cheese. It was the first food I’d had since 12 noon yesterday (9 May). Then the waiting game started again, this time for the doctor. While I waited I listened to the other patients around me talking about their lives. They were all male. The patient next to me said his process was fine and he hadn’t suffered at all. I mentioned my experience was quite different. I suppose everybody’s experiences are different. This is just my view.

The doctor came and told me everything was fine. No problems. Which leaves me with the problem I had in the first place. If it recurs will I need more tests?

I only had a vague idea of what a colonoscopy was when my doctor said I should have one. Plenty of people I know have had them including my mother and brother. Perhaps I should have been a little more sympathetic towards them. I know I will be in future.

One Comment to “Colonoscopy – the finale”

  1. Poor Dottie !! You should have let me know you we’re having one. I have a fail proof trick for getting thru the gallons of disgusting drink you have to consume before hand.

Leave a Reply

