27 December 2013 Melbourne to Queenscliff

Up early (for me) to catch the 9.15am Vline train to South Geelong. Off for an extended weekend in Queenscliff. The conductor gave me a weird look when I showed him my paper pass! The two Japanese girls had trouble understanding the driver’s Scottish accent and nearly got out at South Geelong instead of Geelong for their connection to Apollo Bay. I got to the start of the Bellarine rail trail at 10.15am and rode and rode (with a few brief stops) to get to Queenscliff at about 1.15pm. The Loft in Hesse St is a fully self-contained apartment on the first floor. Vicki let me in early for a much-needed shower then off to the shopping centre (one block away) for lunch at a cafe on Hesse St newly opened but I can’t remember the name. Lingered a while over a chicken panini and piece of carrot cake then started browsing the shops. They are really upmarket and expensive although I did get a $2 red handbag in Vinnies! Most crowded shop there. 

Peter arrived around 4pm and met me in the shopping centre. We had a cup of tea then walked  back to The Loft. Peter relaxed and I looked at the photos and videos I made on the way here. By the time I got to Drysdale the train had come from Queenscliff. By the time I got to Queenscliff the train was coming in backwards so I got to see it twice.

Dinner was at the bowling club Ripview Cafe overlooking the ocean. The way ships go out to sea is weird. They seem to go sideways and then appear to come back to where they were. Hopefully the sea pilots know what they’re doing! Peter had paella and Christmas pudding (I thought he would have had enough!) and I had kofta lamb with bread and butter pudding. I certainly have had enough! 

The plan tomorrow is to have breakfast out then go to Barwon Heads market and maybe to the beach. It’s going to be 39 degrees! Aaahh!

Leave a Reply

