150402 Melbourne to Echuca

Had a relaxing day after doing my workout at the gym this morning. Lunch at the ‘Pint of Milk’ after Peter left for Echuca by car.
Said goodbye to Craig who is off to Boogie for Easter. Loaded my panniere onto my bike and rode to Newport station.

So glad I caught the train to Echuca from Southern Cross station. Got a seat no problem and found a space for the bike nearby. By Footscray the train was getting packed and some people didn’t have seats! It took 3 1/2 hours but I was happy to veg out and read for most of the way.

Peter met me at Echuca station then I rode to the Steampacket Inn where we’re staying for the long weekend. It is a cute little place on the end of The Port. If you blink you’d miss it. Great spot, close to everything. I had a look around at dusk. The cockies were going ballistic trying to find a perch for the night. They looked spectacular swooping around the Murray River in waves of white. Quite a sight. Not sure the pictures I took do it justice.

Off to the Star Hotel for dinner. Spag and meatballs for Peter. Chicken penne for me. Just hit the spot.

Leave a Reply

