150406 Wharparilla Flora Reserve-Campaspe River

Finally relented and had a cooked breakfast. It was very good. Kissed Peter goodbye and went off to find the Wharparilla Flora Reserve. What a wild goose chase that was. Along warren Rd from the Port and then onto the Murray Hwy. No bike lane or track. The reserve was a dustbowl.

Along Wharparilla Rd was an eyeopener. Many very expensive houses along there. I had to dodge a sprinkler to get through a dead end to continue. Took a track at Burnanga Bend Murray River Parkland that led to the Murray River and realised I was across the river to Michelle’s place near Rich River Golf Club! Too bad there are no bridges handy. Having no idea where I was I backtracked back to Warren Rd and then did a ride along the Campaspe River to Ogilvie Ave. I criss-crossed up suburban streets on the opposite side and then back into the Port on Pakenham St.

Locked up my bike at the Steampacket Inn and wandered into the Echuca Museum, which is in the old police station building. It is quite extensive but not very inspiring. The only thing that took my interest was a case of type for printing.

Met Michelle for lunch at the Echuca Hotel. It has been completely done up since we were there for Pat’s run. Killed a couple of hours chatting then I picked up my bike and got the train to Melbourne at 4.08pm. Wasn’t busy from Echuca but at Bendigo it was standing room only. My bike got boxed in and I went all the way to Southern Cross. Couldn’t have got out at Footscray. Just made a Werribee train so didn’t have to wait.

Leave a Reply

