14-15 Apr 2015 Murwillumbah

14 Apr 2015

Phil picked me up and we went to see his Mum (my aunt Olive) at Heritage Lodge, a long way down the road I’m staying on. It is a beautiful place with great facilities and caring staff.

Unfortunately we don’t think Olive recognised me. She was watching TV in the communal lounge and Phil pushed her into her room so we could talk. Well, she can’t really talk, just with facial expressions. Phil made a cup of tea and we talked and watched the news, which is his habit most week nights with his Mum.

I tried to talk to her but she had a wary look on her face. Maybe another time she might recognise me!

Phil took me to his place where Barb had cooked dinner for us, together with their son Ben, and his girlfriend Sammy (who are living with them at the moment). They have five dogs between them all, two large and three small. We talked a bit about how hard it is when your parents age and you have to make decisions about their health.

I didn’t stay too late. The fire was warm and my eyes would not stay open!

15 Apr 2015

Barb met me about 9am and we walked into Murwillumbah to have breakfast at the Austral Cafe. Both of us had raisin toast and coffee. Just as well we didn’t have much as we met Karri, Brett, his mum, dad and sister for lunch at Take a Break Cafe in Sunnyside Mall. Karri and Brett have a new baby boy, just 10 weeks old, called Nicholas. He is a cute little thing. I gave them a patchwork bag as a present.

Continued my walk along the river over the far side this time. The information centre is just near the bridge. Spent a bit of time talking to the ladies in there for ideas on what to do or see.

Walked up Wharf St towards the motel and had lemongrass tea and a brownie at Cenzo Cafe. Studied all the info I picked up. Byron Bay is not far away so some of it will be helpful when I come back in October for a yoga retreat.

Back to my room to pretty myself up. Going to a concert in Tweed Heads at Twin Towns featuring Glen Shorrock, Brian Cadd, Kate Ceberano and Joe Camilleri in the APIA Good Times Tour! I am so excited. One of Barb and Phil’s friends can’t go so I’m taking her ticket. Out for dinner before. Should be great!

Leave a Reply

