17 Apr 2015 Around Murwillumbah again and Tumbulgum

Went the wrong way along Byangum Rd and someone called out my name to say ‘hi’! I waved but am still not sure who they were! Thank goodness for phone maps.

Breakfast at The Modern Grocer this morning. Great muesli, fruit and yoghurt, and coffee. Back up the big hill to the Lions Lookout for a better look around. Still not a very clear view but it is a good workout.

Went to Tumbulgum Tavern for lunch with Barb, Phil, Karri, Brett, Jevon and Cat. Great view across to the Tweed River. The chicken special was delicious. The huge outdoor area and dining room caters to heaps of people.

Said goodbye to Jevin and Cat and went off to see Olive at Heritage Lodge. Phil wheeled her into a spot near the window with a garden view. I was very disturbed to see a sign on the door forbidding they be left open because the pythons would get in! I’m not kidding! They are not poisonous but would give you a nasty scare.

Olive smiled a lot today. She seemed to recognise us all and have a good time. It was great to see. Karri and Brett brought little Nicholas and she was fascinated by him. We had a cup of tea with her and spent about an hour there. So glad she seemed to recognise me this time. More like the Olive I remember.

Quick stop at the motel for my laptop and then on to Phil and Barb’s place in Dungay (pronounced Dun gee). It’s claim to fame is that the British ‘I’m a celebrity, get me out of here’ has been filmed here for about 5 years. Very tight security though. It is very dense bushland and quite remote anyway.

Had a look around their property of 50 acres for the first time in daylight. It is quite rugged bushland. They have cattle, chooks, a duck and 5 dogs. Phil also runs a business in Tweed Heads! Not sure where they find the time for both.

On my guided tour tonight I discovered a wooden clothes horse made by our Grandpa Haw just like the one I have. Phil wasn’t aware that’s where it came from though.

I am sad that this is my last night. It’s been a really relaxing and recuperative break for me. Just what I needed. Thanks very much to Phil and Barb and their family for looking after me so well.

Leave a Reply

