26 June 2015 Melbourne to Bendigo

Off on the Vline train to Bendigo this morning. Grabbed my bike and took Metro to Southern Cross station. The Bendigo train leaves from platform 16B. After I traipsed up the lift to the lower number platforms I had to catch the lift again to the suburban end! After a fairly uneventful 2 hours of reading I arrived in Bendigo about midday. I had forgotten that View St is on a steep slope. Riding up to my accommodation (Barclay on View) for the next 3 days tested my stamina.

Off to Aunt Daisy’s Tea Rooms just down View St for a very tasty vege focaccia for lunch. Very quaint decor with old tea sets and candelabra around the place.

Back on the bike and off to the Prince of Wales Showground in Nth Bendigo for CraftAlive. A massive craft show and artisan arts show. Plenty of scrapbooking, patch working and all sorts of stalls, even a sweet stall from Altona! I talked to Duncan bespoke bootmaker on the painstaking task of crafting custom made shoes, a printmaker at Hipcat Printery from Footscray (!) and Doug Moseley Blacksmith about his wares. There was also Wayne from Sew What in Maryborough who told me my mum’s Singer sewing machine was probably from the 100th anniversary and should have a blue seal on it somewhere! Will check it out when I get home. Pat, I’m sure you’ll be interested to know I talked to Heather from Heather’s Quilting Emporium in Moama! Yes, the one we walked for hours to find in vain. I have a list of their quilting retreats now. Just for something different I created a bookmark by jabbing a needle into strands of wool and silk through felt. Not sure of the technical terms. I thought I was going to dye fabric but went to the wrong workshop.

To kill time before dinner I set off down View St to the Alexandra Fountain to follow Walk 1 CBD urban walk from the Bendigo Walks brochure. Turn left into Pall Mall, past the Soldiers Memorial Museum, Queen Victoria statue, Bendigo information centre, former Law Courts, and Shamrock Hotel on the opposite side. The white conservatory stands out among the bright green grassed area with old style iron fencing surround. Keep walking along Pall Mall to the Chinese Gateway and turn left towards the Chinese temple, gardens and the Golden Dragon Museum. Across Bridge St to Rosalind Park, past the fernery, Bendigo Senior Secondary College and the massive heritage building of Camp Hill Primary School. The poppet head shines like a beacon with the setting sun behind it. I have climbed to the top before but never noticed the mosaics around  the bottom of it.

Whew! Back to my hotel for a short rest before dinner at Borchelli’s, a slightly longer walk down View St, for vege risotto with big variety of vegetables, and lemon and chilli tart with REAL cream. The end of a perfect day.

Leave a Reply

