28 June 2015 Craft Alive and walk in Bendigo

Breakfast this morning was at Basement on View, which is underneath the Bendigo Art Gallery next to the Capital Theatre. I was the first one there at 9am when they opened. It is a lovely space with vintage crockery and bric-a-brac displayed.

Off to Craft Alive again to revisit the artisans I met on Friday. There was also a gymkhana on in the middle of the oval as well as the Bendigo market and Silvers Circus on all at the Prince of Wales Showgrounds in Nth Bendigo. The place was crawling with people, especially as the sun had come out.
Duncan the bootmaker looks like he comes from a different era but he can’t be more than 40-ish. I joined a kumihimo demonstration to see if I was missing any tricks. Easybeads sell some strong glue for attaching findings so i bought some! I watched Katies Patchwork make the quick block that I saw in Melbourne at a craft show. After wandering around a bit I went over to the market for a look around. There was an awful lot of secondhand goods over there. Lunch of a cup of soup and bread for $4 was the bargain of the day.
Back to Craft Alive and the world record attempt for the most people crocheting at once. It was a long drawn-out affair waiting for everything to be ready then actually crocheting continuously for 15 minutes. I did meet a lot of nice people though. One of them coached me in crocheting skills as I was a bit rusty. Unfortunately we were 12 short of a record, which was only about 400 people. All the squares are going to charities anyway.
Had enough craftiness for one weekend so I went for a stroll around Bendigo. There are some very imposing buildings, all built on money from gold I’m betting. Sacred Heart Cathedral is one imposing structure, also the Town Hall, former School of Mines and Mechanics Institute. Some I didn’t note what they were.
On the way back I took a walk through the fernery at Rosalind Gardens, which is a tribute to ‘All Good Mothers’ from 1953. There was quite a bit of dry stone walling, a small waterfall, a couple of bridges over pools of water. It was very peaceful except for the splashing water.
Now where will I go for dinner tonight?
Leave a Reply

