26 Sep 2016 Walk around Penang

img_0579

Chinese seals with horses carved into the top

Breakfast at Sarkies was leisurely this morning. No plans. I left Peter in the room and walked to the Clan Jetties again. Perusing the many shops along the way, hardware, framing, pod hotels. Wandered around the jetties are a myriad of houses/huts/walkways. Some you can walk down, some are private. It is hard to tell which is which though.

On the way back to the hotel I found a ratten maker and Chinese seal cutter close together. The seal cutter was just opening and I sat and looked at what he had. Intricately carved figures on the top of three sizes of seal. Just tell him what you want on the seal and he will do it for you. Need to go back tomorrow to pick my order up.

Back at the hotel I come out again with Peter and we go to get some money changed. The Odeon Trick Art Cafe is across the road near the corner of Penang and Chulia roads so we try it out. It was once a 1920s theatre and has some strange displays that I think is the ‘trick art’. Lunch is teriyaki chicken for me and cajun chicken for Peter. Food was okay, surroundings were pleasant.

Off to the pool for my daily dip and reading session after lunch. Peter joins me eventually. It would be really nice to stop in Penang on a cruise, I think, as a ship glides into Penang Harbour.

Leave a Reply

