19 October 2016 Byron Bay

img_0995Cape Byron State Conservation Area

Out for breakfast at the Byronian Cafe for porridge with berries and almonds. Very filling. I take a walk towards the beach, along the foreshore and up to the Byron Bay lighthouse. It is very pleasant weather, not too hot. There are many others out walking. Someone spots some dolphins in the water below so I watch them until they disappear. There are numerous sightings of whales as well and I finally get to see them and photograph them although they are a fair way away. From the lighthouse I walk towards Wategos Beach. A tourist is trying to see what’s making a rustling sound in the bush. We can hear it but can’t see it. It remains a mystery. Another tourist sees a snake. I keep walking!

I stop for lunch at The Pass Cafe. A pair of colourful birds stop to play in front of me. Of course I’m too slow to get a photo but the picture is still in my head. Keep going past Clarke’s Beach towards the town centre. Take a ‘shortcut’ down Patterson St, past Evans St where the yoga retreat will be, towards Top Shop Cafe and back to Ruskin House. Good to know there is only 1km between the two places I will be staying.

Spend some time relaxing in the courtyard of my accommodation. Venture out again but I have trouble locking the door of my room. Not sure if I’m holding my mouth right but it’s not working for me. I seek out Gavin who tries another key that works perfectly. It’s not just me!

Off for another walk around town. Settle on Mexican (again) at Miss Margarita. Get a mojito while I wait for a table. Doesn’t take that long but the wait for someone to take my order stretches beyond what is reasonable. I’m not in a hurry though and when my nachos finally come they are worth the wait.

Leave a Reply

