21 October 2016 Kayaking on Brunswick River

Bit of breakfast in my room then off to find some decent books. The one I got out of the library is not thrilling me at all. Op shops are the best source of everything up here. Vinnies is frequented by a constant stream of tourists. Couple of books in my bag, I stopped at the Bayleaf for a coconut and berry drink and another version of banana bread. Very popular here.

Got picked from Ruskin House and travelled to Brunswick Heads for my kayaking experience on the Brunswick River by Go Sea Kayak.

Took a while to wait for another bus and get the kayaks off the trailer to the river. I went with the instructor because I didn’t have a partner. Good move. She was always in front and I heard everything she said about where we were and what was going on.

The wind was stiff heading away from where we got in the water. On the way we saw a few stingrays, one was mostly buried in the sand with his tail hanging out. Some fish darted in and out of the mangroves as we glided by.

Stopped on the beach at the heads to check out any whales passing by and to have some fruit. There were whales but I wasn’t quick enough to see them.

Back in the kayak with the wind this time but against the tide. Wouldn’t have wanted it to be much longer than the two hours it was. I will have sore arms tomorrow! Waiting for Go Sea Kayak to put up the photos on Facebook. Hope there’s some good ones.

Ventured out to have Pinang curry at Success Thai just down the road for me. Byron Bay is jumping as usual. I am so tired I just want to go to bed!

Leave a Reply

